Toddler Talk

Just a few of the conversations I have had with my little Payton lately (can you believe she is 27 months?!):

SONY DSC

Me – in PJ’s room putting away laundry.
PJ – in the room across the hall, playing with her dolls.
PJ: “Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  MaaaaMaaaa.  Mama.  MaaaaMaaa!”
PJ: “Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  Maaamaaa!  Mommy!  Mommy!  Mama.  Mama.”
PJ: “Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  Mama.”
This goes on for a couple more minutes…until:
PJ: “Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  Mama.  …JULIE!!!!!!!”
Me: looks into the other room, “excuse me?”
PJ: smiles and “Mama.  Mama.  Mama…”
Well…she got my attention for a second there!

SONY DSC

Lately we have been dealing with this word a lot: Need.  Not want, but need.
PJ: “I need a cupcake.”
PJ: “I need a chip.  I eat my apples and now I need a chip.”
PJ: “I need Mama’s phone, I need to play games.”
PJ: “I need music.  I need my music on now.”
PJ: After waking up from a full night in her big girl bed, she chose to pick out a coin for her piggy bank as her reward, “I need monies now, I need Daddy’s monies now.  I need TWO monies!”.  Me: “Payton, you get 1 coin.”  PJ: “No, I need 2 monies!”
PJ: “I need to watch “Can’t Hold Us!”  -this girl loves her some Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.

SONY DSC

I was trying to pull up an app on my phone for PJ to play for a minute and the app kept freezing.
Me: “Hold on a sec Payton, it keeps freezing, let me fix it real quick.”
PJ: “No Mama, I fix it for you.”
Me: “Just a second big girl, let me fix it.”
PJ: “No Mama, give it to me, I fix it.”
Me: “Big girl, just hold your horses, I’ll fix it real quick.”
PJ: “No Mama, I said give it to me and I fix it.  Ok?!”
Me: “Oh I see, ok, here you go, you can fix it then…”  hands the phone to her…
PJ: “Ok thank you Mama, now I fix it for you, OK?  Ok Mama?  I go fix it real quick.”
Me: “Ok thank you.”
PJ, 2 minutes later: “Ok Mama, it won’t fix, game is frozen.”
PJ: walks off with phone “Oh Mama, it is ok, game is frozen, I fix it later.  I go play another game on your phone real quick.”

SONY DSC

PJ: drops her bowl of snacks “damnit!”
Me: “uhhhh, what?”
PJ: “uh oh sghaghettios!”
Me: “ummmm, no, what did you say first?”
PJ: “I say damnnit.”
Me: “hmmm ok, that is what I though you said.”
Yikes.  Talked to her about not saying that word, yada, yada, yada.  She didn’t say it for a good week and then…
PJ: playing with her dolls (CeCe and Marsha) and a pretend cup of milk gets knocked over…”CeCe say damn”
Me: “what?”
PJ: “oh Mama, CeCe say damn.”
Me: “Payton, you know we don’t say that, it isn’t nice to say.”
PJ: “Mama, I not say it, CeCe say damn”
Well, she got me there.

About JulesJ

We have grown from a family of three to four! I am a full time wife and Mommy, and a part time Registered Nurse in a busy Medical Cardiac ICU. My hubby works at Microsoft...that is what brought us to Seattle. We have the most adorable little girl...born October of 2011. Plus we have a new little bundle of joy in our life, our little prince was born February of 2014. We live in Issaquah, WA, about 20 minutes east of Seattle...though we are true Texans at heart. I am just trying to capture those every day moments so we will have memories to last a lifetime.
This entry was posted in Toddler Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toddler Talk

  1. Barbara says:

    Well, it looks like she is finding ways to get by with bad words. I an not believe. How smart and grown up she has gotten and prettier than ever. Love you PJ

  2. She gets cuter every day, Julie. These stories are priceless! It’s wonderful that you are recording them! 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Next time that little smartie-pants pulls that, just put CeCe in time out. See how she likes that! haha!

Leave a Reply

